Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Lee Seng Teik & Lee Hoo Leng Professorship

Lee Seng Teik & Lee Hoo Leng Professorship in Plastic Surgery & Regenerative Medicine

Over his illustrious career, Professor Lee Seng Teik, Emeritus Consultant of Singapore General Hospital’s (SGH) Department of Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery, has been at the vanguard in his field. His numerous achievements include research studies in genetic craniofacial anomalies and long-term outcome studies in cleft lip and palate. He was Head of the SGH Plastic Surgery Department and the Burns Centre from 1985 to 1998. In 1990, he started the stem cell lab in the National Burns Centre. In 2005, Prof Lee initiated the Adult Stem Cell Research Group on the Outram campus, based at the Singapore Eye Research Institute (SERI), for translational research in plastic surgery, neurology, ophthalmology and oncology. When the conjoined Nepalese twins Ganga and Jamuna were separated in a mammoth 103-hour operation, Prof Lee led the reconstruction team and covered their brain with artificial skin. This was a first for Singapore. As a Distinguished Singapore Volunteer Overseas, Prof Lee has actively been involved in humanitarian work for over 30 years. Mr Lee Hoo Leng is a private investor and held directorships in various companies. He is also an alumnus of Raffles College and NUS (’52) and a Global Council member for the Asia Society, an educational organisation that promotes partnerships between Asia and the US in a global context. He is also a close family friend of Prof Lee Seng Teik.

The Lee Seng Teik and Lee Hoo Leng Professorship in Plastic Surgery and Regenerative Medicine will enable new insights into tissue and organ regeneration, resulting in new therapies relevant to ageing populations, tissue engineering of organs, tissues for replacement therapy and also translational research in both acute and chronic wound healing. The Professorship is supported by gifts from Prof Lee Seng Teik and Mr Lee Hoo Leng.

Click here to read about the current awardee of this Distinguished Professorship.