Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Prof Arthur Rubenstein
Professor of Medicine
Raymond & Ruth Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvannia              

Dr. Rubenstein was the Executive Vice President of the University of Pennsylvania for the Health System and Dean of the Raymond and Ruth Perelman School of Medicine from September 2001 to July 2011. Together, these entities make up Penn Medicine, an enterprise dedicated to the related missions of medical education, biomedical research, and excellence in patient care. Founded in 1765, Penn's Perelman School of Medicine has1,823 full-time faculty and nearly 3,000 students, trainees, residents and fellows. The School is recognized worldwide for its superior education and training of the next generation of physician-scientists and leaders of academic medicine. The University of Pennsylvania Health System (UPHS) includes its flagship hospital, the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania (HUP); Pennsylvania Hospital, the nation's first hospital; Penn Presbyterian Medical Center and Penn Medicine at Rittenhouse. In addition, it encompasses a primary-care provider network, a faculty practice plan, home care, hospice, and nursing home and three multispecialty satellite facilities.

Dr. Arthur H. Rubenstein is now Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology at the Raymond and Ruth Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. Before joining Penn, Dr. Rubenstein served for four years as Dean of Mount Sinai School of Medicine and Gustave L. Levy Distinguished Professor. Earlier, he was the Lowell T. Coggeshall Distinguished Service Professor of Medical Sciences and Chairman of the Department of Medicine at the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine.

Dr. Rubenstein is an internationally-prominent endocrinologist recognized for clinical expertise and groundbreaking research in diabetes. Well-known for his inspired teaching, Dr. Rubenstein has served in numerous professional leadership positions during his career. These include President of the Association of Professors of Medicine; President of the Association of American Physicians; President of the Central Society for Clinical Research; Chairman of the American Board of Internal Medicine; Chairman of the Board of the Association of Academic Health Centers; and Chair of the National Diabetes Advisory Board. He has been a member of a study section and of the Advisory Council of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.

Author of more than 350 publications, Dr. Rubenstein has held editorial advisory positions with several respected journals, including service on the editorial boards of the Annals of Internal Medicine, the Journal of Diabetes and Its Complications, Medicine, and Clinical Trials Advisor. He was also a consulting editor to the Journal of Clinical Investigation.

Dr. Rubenstein is the recipient of many awards and prizes, including the highest honor of the Association of American Physicians (AAP), the George M. Kober Medal and the highest honor from the Association of Professors of Medicine, the Robert H. Williams Distinguished Chair of Medicine Award. Among his other honors are the John Phillips Memorial Award from the American College of Physicians; the Banting Medal from the American Diabetes Association; and the David Rumbough Scientific Award from the Juvenile Diabetes Association. In 2009, Dr. Rubenstein was awarded the prestigious Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education from the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Born in South Africa, Dr. Rubenstein received his medical degree from the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg. In 2001, he was honored by his alma mater when an honorary degree, Doctor of Science in Medicine, was conferred upon him. He is a Fellow of the College of Medicine of South Africa and of the Royal College of Physicians of London; a Master of the American College of Physicians; He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; and a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences (1987).